Cheat Engine Forum Index Cheat Engine
The Official Site of Cheat Engine
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Any way to prevent Cheat Engine window from going top?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Cheat Engine
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
squerol
Advanced Cheater
Reputation: 2

Joined: 06 Jul 2015
Posts: 65
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2019 2:49 am    Post subject: Any way to prevent Cheat Engine window from going top? Reply with quote

Hello.
I have simple question - is there any way to prevent Cheat Engine window from going top after launching it?

I'm using Cheat Engine with one game (Elder Scrolls IV Oblivion) which game engine have some issues with alt+tabbing and minimizing - when it is alt+tabbed or minimized the crash to desktop would likely happen sooner or later. Sometimes game freeze instantly too because that. It isn't wrong pointer or scripts problem because when I launch this game in windowed/borderless windowed issues are not happening.

I've wrote script in AutoHotKey software already so I don't need to alt+tab to launch my Cheat Engine cheat table but still the Cheat Engine window is going to top and it is minimizing my game and some game engine specific problems happens after that.

So, is there any way to prevent Cheat Engine window from going top so it won't minimize my current fullscreened application?

Thank You.

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 458

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 25288
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2019 3:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

window has an option to define how an application shows.


https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/desktop/api/shellapi/nf-shellapi-shellexecutea

so just show it as minimized or invisible using an app that can call shellExecute
(SW_SHOWNOACTIVATE might be the one you need)

_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.

Like my help? Join me on Patreon so i can keep helping
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
squerol
Advanced Cheater
Reputation: 2

Joined: 06 Jul 2015
Posts: 65
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2019 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dark Byte wrote:
window has an option to define how an application shows.


https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/desktop/api/shellapi/nf-shellapi-shellexecutea

so just show it as minimized or invisible using an app that can call shellExecute
(SW_SHOWNOACTIVATE might be the one you need)


Thank You but sadly... I don't get it how and where to use it. Even after googling it.

I've read on google that those commands are meant to be used when I'm programming my own application, right? So how to apply that to Cheat Engine .exe process?

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
OldCheatEngineUser
Whateven rank
Reputation: 20

Joined: 01 Feb 2016
Posts: 1587

PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2019 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

just create a program that calls ShellExecuteA, and specify SW_SHOWNOACTIVATE as db suggested.

and i believe you need uac account, i.e. admin. (not sure really)

_________________
About Me;
I Use CE Since Version 1.X, And Still Learning How To Use It Well!
Jul 26, 2020
STN wrote:
i am a sweetheart.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
squerol
Advanced Cheater
Reputation: 2

Joined: 06 Jul 2015
Posts: 65
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 1:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OldCheatEngineUser wrote:
just create a program that calls ShellExecuteA, and specify SW_SHOWNOACTIVATE as db suggested.

and i believe you need uac account, i.e. admin. (not sure really)


Thanks.
But those functions like SW_SHOWNOACTIVATE, SW_MAXIMIZE, SW_MINIMIZE, etc. only works on notepad.exe for me - for other programs like calculator, cheat engine, etc. it just doesn't work.

I'm using SW_MAXIMIZE as example for easy look if it works or not.

This code runs application with correct behaviour:

Code:

#include <iostream>
#include <shlobj.h>
#include <shlwapi.h>
#include <shellapi.h>
#include <objbase.h>
#include <algorithm>
#include <windows.h>
#include <string>

using namespace std;

main()
{
ShellExecuteA( NULL, "open", "notepad.exe", NULL, NULL, SW_SHOWMAXIMIZED );
}




This code just opens cheat engine and doesn't change anything, window is not maximized:

Code:

#include <iostream>
#include <shlobj.h>
#include <shlwapi.h>
#include <shellapi.h>
#include <objbase.h>
#include <algorithm>
#include <windows.h>
#include <string>

using namespace std;

main()
{
ShellExecuteA( NULL, "open", "Cheat engine.exe", NULL, "C:\\123\\Programs\\Cheat Engine 6.7", SW_SHOWMAXIMIZED );
}


I have 0 expierience with c++ and I don't get it why notepad launches as I wanted and other apps not - so sorry for troubling and annoyance.

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
OldCheatEngineUser
Whateven rank
Reputation: 20

Joined: 01 Feb 2016
Posts: 1587

PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 8:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

maybe because of custom class? db?
maybe db should make an optional parameter "-n-a" to be specified and passed to ce executable.

"no activate"

_________________
About Me;
I Use CE Since Version 1.X, And Still Learning How To Use It Well!
Jul 26, 2020
STN wrote:
i am a sweetheart.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
squerol
Advanced Cheater
Reputation: 2

Joined: 06 Jul 2015
Posts: 65
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 4:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OldCheatEngineUser wrote:
maybe because of custom class? db?
maybe db should make an optional parameter "-n-a" to be specified and passed to ce executable.

"no activate"


Nevermind.

I've removed scripts (open game process, set values, etc.) from startup and moved them under hotkey instead so launching Cheat Engine after launching game is not required.

I'm launching Cheat Engine table before launching game and I just press hotkey to enable lua script in game now. Cheat Engine window is not going to front while game process is still chosen, everything from Cheat Table works, game is not crashing anymore.

Anyway Thank You guys for willing to help, I appreciate it.

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Natasha75
How do I cheat?
Reputation: 0

Joined: 25 Jun 2022
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2022 6:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

To prevent the program to go amiss window you have to focus on carelessness in maximizing windows and other attires, when using Cheat Engine 6.1. As a result of this case, you must drag the Cheat Engine 6.1 window beneath all other open applications.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Cheat Engine All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

CE Wiki   IRC (#CEF)   Twitter
Third party websites