Cheat Engine Forum Index Cheat Engine
The Official Site of Cheat Engine

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Help finding a pointer within a data structure

View previous topic :: View next topic  
[email protected]
How do I cheat?

PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2018 5:41 pm    Post subject: Help finding a pointer within a data structure Reply with quote

Hi there

I'm very new to the use of CheatEngine and I hope I don't fill your forum with an inane or unnecessary question but I've really tried very hard to find the answer to my own question on my own and I'm fresh out of ideas.

So I'm actually just using CheatEngine to find static pointers that I can use in an autosplitter I'm using for speed running a game called metal slug 3. Basically this autosplitter will monitor the pointers I give it and I can give it criteria so when I get to a certain part of the game it will flick my timer over for my speed run for me.

I've been able to find pointers to start my splitter and also reset it when I go back to the main menu but I've been really struggling with finding a pointer I can use so that when the bosses health hits zero it will split.

I can consistently find the bosses health in memory no problems, the issue I have is that when I then get a pointer for the bosses health it doesn't remain pointing at the right value even though its base is a static address. Also I'm not talking about it doesn't stay pointing at the right value when I close the game and open it up again. I'm talking about when you go back to the main menu with the game process still running and then go back into the game, get to the boss again and the pointer is no longer pointing at the right address.