Cheat Engine Forum Index Cheat Engine
The Official Site of Cheat Engine
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Cheat Engine Help - Forza Horizon 4
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Cheat Engine
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
greenfrog
Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 14 May 2017
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2018 11:11 am    Post subject: Cheat Engine Help - Forza Horizon 4 Reply with quote

Hi all, I'm having a shot at trying to change the money value in Forza Horizon 4. I know it will be quite tricky and I'm not amazingly educated on cheat engine. My problem is that when i want to see what writes/accesses the address the game crashes, probably due to cheat detection within the game (I am offline though).

Any help to get this function to work would be appreciated.

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OldCheatEngineUser
Whateven rank
Reputation: 17

Joined: 01 Feb 2016
Posts: 1493

PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2018 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

try changing the default debugger, goto settings -> debugging settings -> veh debugger .. use it and report if it worked.
_________________
About Me;
I Use CE Since Version 1.X, And Still Learning How To Use It Well!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
greenfrog
Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 14 May 2017
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2018 1:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OldCheatEngineUser wrote:
try changing the default debugger, goto settings -> debugging settings -> veh debugger .. use it and report if it worked.


Thanks for the reply. I tried VEH Debugger, that didn't work. I also tried Kernalmode debugger and that opened the debugger window but as soon as i canged the value in game the game crashed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OldCheatEngineUser
Whateven rank
Reputation: 17

Joined: 01 Feb 2016
Posts: 1493

PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if veh debugger crahsed, then it means all hardware-breakpoints are set by the game .. and when you set a hw-bp it replaces the one used by the game. (and the game can detect this)

instead goto debugging settings and use software-breakppint (int 3), if that failed then use page-exceptions.

note:
when using page-exceptions dont play in full-screen mode, because it will be laggy. (extreme lag)

another note:
if changing the value crashes the game, then its means the game is verifying your actions.
if it revert back, then either:
- an instruction constantly writing to the address
- game check and verify the previous value with current value as well as amount gained and lost then it writes it back if there is an unexpected change.

last note:
if modifying the opcode (instructions / bytes in code-page) crashes the game, then there is an integrity check. (and discussing how-to bypass such things is not allowed here)

_________________
About Me;
I Use CE Since Version 1.X, And Still Learning How To Use It Well!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
greenfrog
Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 14 May 2017
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2018 1:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OldCheatEngineUser wrote:
if veh debugger crahsed, then it means all hardware-breakpoints are set by the game .. and when you set a hw-bp it replaces the one used by the game. (and the game can detect this)

instead goto debugging settings and use software-breakppint (int 3), if that failed then use page-exceptions.

note:
when using page-exceptions dont play in full-screen mode, because it will be laggy. (extreme lag)

another note:
if changing the value crashes the game, then its means the game is verifying your actions.
if it revert back, then either:
- an instruction constantly writing to the address
- game check and verify the previous value with current value as well as amount gained and lost then it writes it back if there is an unexpected change.

last note:
if modifying the opcode (instructions / bytes in code-page) crashes the game, then there is an integrity check. (and discussing how-to bypass such things is not allowed here)



Thanks for the info! So I tried all breakpoint methods and none of them worked. I thought it'd be worthwhile to mention the error it pops up with.
'Failure determining what "vehdebug-x86_64.initializeVEH" means'.

Also I've realised that the game doesn't crash when i change the value, nothing happens then. It's only with the debugger.

I might look into bypassing integrity checks. Thanks for your time again!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheyCallMeTim13
Wiki Contributor
Reputation: 24

Joined: 24 Feb 2017
Posts: 733
Location: 'Merica

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2018 1:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You might want to look into "TruePlay".
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OldCheatEngineUser
Whateven rank
Reputation: 17

Joined: 01 Feb 2016
Posts: 1493

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2018 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

greenfrog wrote:
'Failure determining what "vehdebug-x86_64.initializeVEH" means'.

maybe db can help you with this, or if its TruePlay then find a way remove/disable this MS-Patch.

i think it can also be:

- your account dont have debugging-rights / administrator-rights (try running CE "run as admin...")

- issues with VEH procedure maybe something is blocking it / messing around with it ... idk really

_________________
About Me;
I Use CE Since Version 1.X, And Still Learning How To Use It Well!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
STN
I post too much
Reputation: 35

Joined: 09 Nov 2005
Posts: 2571

PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2018 6:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's not possible to debug this game. Either because of the elevated process permissions available to windows apps or trueplay or some other shit.

There is a workaround (thanks to Matze500 of megadev) who told me it but i don't know if i can share without his permission since it belongs to him. It doesn't directly involve hacking this game.

Maybe DB can look into it.

_________________
Cheat Requests/Tables- Fearless Cheat Engine
https://fearlessrevolution.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheyCallMeTim13
Wiki Contributor
Reputation: 24

Joined: 24 Feb 2017
Posts: 733
Location: 'Merica

PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2018 7:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Microsoft claimed you can opt-out of TruePlay, and this would disable some features like online stuff. And I Think it was a setting (boolean/toggle) in or under "Game Monitoring".
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 373

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 22009
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2018 8:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try enabling dbvm

then you'll have some dbvm specific "find what accesses" options in the addresslist context menu (which works by marking physical memory as unwritable and letting the hypervisor handle it)

and if all else fails try jtag over usb (gigabyte mainboards are your best bet)

_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.

Like my help? Join me on Patreon so i can keep helping
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
atom0s
Moderator
Reputation: 152

Joined: 25 Jan 2006
Posts: 7827
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2018 1:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There's a few cheat/hacking related blogs that cover TruePlay and how to bypass it / get around its checks for various games.
_________________
- Retired.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
greenfrog
Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 14 May 2017
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2018 2:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I've looked into my settings and trueplay of off already (not sure if i need to go deeper than the simple off toggle).

I've just tried enabling dbvm but my PC freezes every time I click the text in the help menu. I'm looking through other posts to help with this, but I've got virtualization tech turned on and done all the other stuff correctly.

Thanks for the replies.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 373

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 22009
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2018 12:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you're on 6.8.1 and an Intel cpu ?
_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.

Like my help? Join me on Patreon so i can keep helping
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
amateurhackerman
How do I cheat?
Reputation: 0

Joined: 14 Oct 2018
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2018 4:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have also had debugger issues with this game. I have tried every debugger option available. Using DBVM the game just crashes on loading right after launch (before I even try to attach to game, it just doesn't work in the VM i guess). All the other debugging options crash the game when trying to attach. VEH debugger always gives the 'Failure determining what "vehdebug-x86_64.initializeVEH" means' error.

Using latest Cheat Engine version and i7-4770k CPU.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
greenfrog
Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 14 May 2017
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2018 6:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Darkbyte, I've updated and the debugger works as you said.
Now I just need to put in some time to get the money value changed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Cheat Engine All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

CE Wiki   IRC (#CEF)   Twitter
Third party websites