View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Bennnie Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0
Joined: 29 Aug 2012 Posts: 11
|
Posted: Mon Aug 30, 2021 8:56 am Post subject: Confused about enabling DBVM |
|
|
I try to use DBVM, but I have trouble enabling it properly. It looks like I can turn it on but I might not understand how it is supposed to work or it's a bug.
Here is the situation. I start CE. I right click the CE logo and get the 'About Cheat Engine' window. At the bottom it says 'Your system does not support DBVM. Perhaps it is already in a VM.' When I click the text 'DBK64 loaded' appears flashing in the top left of the screen. I also receive the error 'Your cpu must be able to run DBVM to use this function.'. After clicking ok, the 'Kernel tools' tab in the memory viewer becomes available and I can use for example the Drivers list. The list that appears is populated. So it showed errors, but looked like it was kind of working? Now the 'Use kernelmode debugger (requires DBVM)' option in Debugger options remains unavailable.
I have a 8600K and 'Intel virtualization Tech' and 'Intel VT-D Tech' are enable in the BIOS. Running Cheat Engine 7.3
Am I doing something wrong? Does anyone have suggestions how I could enable the kernelmode debugger?
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Dark Byte Site Admin
Reputation: 468
Joined: 09 May 2003 Posts: 25708 Location: The netherlands
|
Posted: Mon Aug 30, 2021 9:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
you didn't load dbvm, you just loaded dbk
You're already inside a virtual machine. Likely your anti virus is running your system within an VM, or you have core protection enabled in windows. Disable hyper-V and core protection if possible
_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.
Like my help? Join me on Patreon so i can keep helping |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Bennnie Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0
Joined: 29 Aug 2012 Posts: 11
|
Posted: Mon Aug 30, 2021 9:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for the quick answer.
I am not using anti-virus software other then Windows defender. I disabled some extra protection in Windows defender but it didn't solve it. Core protection is disabled an hyper-v isn't enabled. Just updated my BIOS but no change.
I am getting kind of scared here since I cant explain why CE thinks i'm inside a vm. It could be a virus, right? Perhaps time for a fresh install of Windows?
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Dark Byte Site Admin
Reputation: 468
Joined: 09 May 2003 Posts: 25708 Location: The netherlands
|
Posted: Mon Aug 30, 2021 9:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
try this lua code in the lua engine window:
Code: |
if (CPUID(1).ecx & (1 << 31)) ~= 0 then
print("You are inside a known virtual machine. There should be an option to turn it of somewhere")
else
print("'IF' you are inside a VM, it's hiding itself from you")
end
|
_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.
Like my help? Join me on Patreon so i can keep helping |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Bennnie Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0
Joined: 29 Aug 2012 Posts: 11
|
Posted: Tue Aug 31, 2021 5:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
I can't execute the code you suggested, I receive the error:
Quote: | Error:[string "
..."]:2: attempt to call a nil value (global 'CPUID')
Script Error
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Dark Byte Site Admin
Reputation: 468
Joined: 09 May 2003 Posts: 25708 Location: The netherlands
|
Posted: Tue Aug 31, 2021 6:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
sorry, had a different extension loaded try
Code: |
if (cpuid(1).ECX & (1 << 31)) ~= 0 then
print("You are inside a known virtual machine. There should be an option to turn it of somewhere")
else
print("'IF' you are inside a VM, it's hiding itself from you")
end
|
_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.
Like my help? Join me on Patreon so i can keep helping |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Bennnie Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0
Joined: 29 Aug 2012 Posts: 11
|
Posted: Tue Aug 31, 2021 6:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
The result is 'You are inside a known virtual machine'. And, I found the fix! Even though I disabled Hyper-V in windows features and I tripple checked no Hyper-V services were running, I had to run Quote: | bcdedit /set hypervisorlaunchtype off | in cmd to properly disable hyper-v and get the option to enable DBVM in CE.
Thanks a lot!
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
HieiYYH Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0
Joined: 20 Aug 2012 Posts: 11
|
Posted: Sun Mar 26, 2023 3:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Dark Byte wrote: | sorry, had a different extension loaded try
Code: |
if (cpuid(1).ECX & (1 << 31)) ~= 0 then
print("You are inside a known virtual machine. There should be an option to turn it of somewhere")
else
print("'IF' you are inside a VM, it's hiding itself from you")
end
|
|
sorry to bring an old topic but i'm having issues with windows 11 here... using your code i get
"You are inside a known virtual machine. There should be an option to turn it of somewhere"
all HyperV options are disabled, also did the cmd command the friend up there used and it said it turned off.
I used to enabled DBVM back when using windows10 without problems but now it says my CPU is not supported or i'm already in a VM state... so, how can i turn off and which app does that?
ps: using windows 11 enterprise here, if that changes anything.
Last edited by HieiYYH on Sun Mar 26, 2023 4:28 pm; edited 2 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Dark Byte Site Admin
Reputation: 468
Joined: 09 May 2003 Posts: 25708 Location: The netherlands
|
Posted: Sun Mar 26, 2023 4:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
core isolation is disabled ?
_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.
Like my help? Join me on Patreon so i can keep helping |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
HieiYYH Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0
Joined: 20 Aug 2012 Posts: 11
|
Posted: Sun Mar 26, 2023 4:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Dark Byte wrote: | core isolation is disabled ? |
it says it's turned off but when entering the option it shows Memory integrity is ON, does that change something?
also run this script that i found in other page
Code: |
local r=cpuid(0)
local s1=byteTableToString(dwordToByteTable(r.EBX))
local s2=byteTableToString(dwordToByteTable(r.EDX))
local s3=byteTableToString(dwordToByteTable(r.ECX))
print(s1..s2..s3)
if (r.EBX~=0x756e6547) or (r.EDX~=0x49656e69) or (r.ECX~=0x6c65746e) then
print("This is NOT an Intel CPU")
else
print("This is an Intel CPU")
local r=cpuid(0x80000002)
local s1=byteTableToString(dwordToByteTable(r.EAX))
local s2=byteTableToString(dwordToByteTable(r.EBX))
local s3=byteTableToString(dwordToByteTable(r.ECX))
local s4=byteTableToString(dwordToByteTable(r.EDX))
r=cpuid(0x80000003)
local s5=byteTableToString(dwordToByteTable(r.EAX))
local s6=byteTableToString(dwordToByteTable(r.EBX))
local s7=byteTableToString(dwordToByteTable(r.ECX))
local s8=byteTableToString(dwordToByteTable(r.EDX))
r=cpuid(0x80000004)
local s9=byteTableToString(dwordToByteTable(r.EAX))
local s10=byteTableToString(dwordToByteTable(r.EBX))
local s11=byteTableToString(dwordToByteTable(r.ECX))
local s12=byteTableToString(dwordToByteTable(r.EDX))
print(s1..s2..s3..s4..s5..s6..s7..s8..s9..s10..s11..s12);
local r=cpuid(1)
print(string.format("cpuid(1):\nEAX=%.8x\nEBX=%.8x\nECX=%.8x\nEDX=%.8x",r.EAX, r.EBX, r.ECX,r.EDX))
if (r.ECX and (1 << 5))~=0 then
print("Your system supports DBVM")
else
print("Your CPU does not support DBVM")
end
end
|
and it returned "Your system supports DBVM"
so i'm really confused here.
EDIT: disabling memory integrity thing resolved the problem... thank you for the heads up.
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|