Cheat Engine Forum Index Cheat Engine
The Official Site of Cheat Engine
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


The start of an opcode

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Cheat Engine
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Pirulito
Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 13 May 2017
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2018 5:06 am    Post subject: The start of an opcode Reply with quote

Is there an easy way to find the start of an opcode?

For instance, assume I want to add a breakpoint (BP) at around byte offset 1000 from the start of the process. This 1000th byte may not be the byte that starts the opcode at such location and so I guess that (I have not tested) placing a BP at such address would not work (or would it work?). So what I want to know is if there is an easy way to find if the 1000th byte is the start of an opcode and, if it is not, where does the opcode that contains the 1000th byte really starts?

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 458

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 25288
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2018 5:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dusassemble from different positions before it and continue disassembling until you're at or beyond the instruction you're interested in
_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.

Like my help? Join me on Patreon so i can keep helping
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Pirulito
Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 13 May 2017
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2018 6:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried the disassembling instruction but if I use it at an address that is not the start of an opcode, disassembling will return a wrong opcode (that starts at the address I passed as parameter anyway). Since I do not know what the opcode is, I cannot tell, by going backwards or afterwards, with certainty, where the real opcode starts.

My only idea is to reconstruct the entire application from its very beginning and get to the next opcode, get is size, then next opcode, then its size, etc. and still I am not sure it will work since the application if full of "gaps" (bytes with '00' in between the procedures).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 458

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 25288
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2018 6:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you'll find that instructions will normalize/snap into place after disassembling 10 or so subsequent instructions (it's what ce's disassembler does when you scroll up)
_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.

Like my help? Join me on Patreon so i can keep helping
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Cheat Engine All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

CE Wiki   IRC (#CEF)   Twitter
Third party websites