Cheat Engine Forum Index Cheat Engine
The Official Site of Cheat Engine
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Register values
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Cheat Engine
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Greenhouse
Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 20 Aug 2016
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 8:40 am    Post subject: Register values Reply with quote

Is the any way to know the register value of an address you found in the Memory View? Break and trace instructions doesn't work because the value doesn't change normally.
For example, the assemble code is: mov rax,[rcx+000000D8]
And I need to know rcx to have the exact address I need.
Is there any way? Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mgostIH
Expert Cheater
Reputation: 3

Joined: 01 Jan 2016
Posts: 159

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 8:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can put a breakpoint on the instruction, CE will give you all the register details even in x64 programs once the game runs that code.
_________________
Do you need to ask me something? Feel free to join my discord server at: https://discord.gg/At4VZXA or ask me something in my YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/mgostIH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Greenhouse
Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 20 Aug 2016
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 8:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mgostIH wrote:
You can put a breakpoint on the instruction, CE will give you all the register details even in x64 programs once the game runs that code.

I tried and it's not giving me anything. I said that the address doesn't change and it's not finding anything.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mgostIH
Expert Cheater
Reputation: 3

Joined: 01 Jan 2016
Posts: 159

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 9:00 am    Post subject: This post has 1 review(s) Reply with quote

Greenhouse wrote:
mgostIH wrote:
You can put a breakpoint on the instruction, CE will give you all the register details even in x64 programs once the game runs that code.

I tried and it's not giving me anything. I said that the address doesn't change and it's not finding anything.


You should then give us more assembly code, 20 or 30 lines of asm from above and below the code might show where rcx gets its value, maybe your code is executed only once during runtime or special events, so some conditional jump may skip it.

_________________
Do you need to ask me something? Feel free to join my discord server at: https://discord.gg/At4VZXA or ask me something in my YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/mgostIH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Greenhouse
Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 20 Aug 2016
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 9:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mgostIH wrote:

You should then give us more assembly code, 20 or 30 lines of asm from above and below the code might show where rcx gets its value, maybe your code is executed only once during runtime or special events, so some conditional jump may skip it.

I'll text you on your discord channel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SunBeam
I post too much
Reputation: 65

Joined: 25 Feb 2005
Posts: 4023
Location: Romania

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 9:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If code doesn't break when enabling a breakpoint, you haven't met the condition for that. Maybe you need to do something in-game so it's triggered. Otherwise, I don't see how code can function without the debugged hitting it. CE's VEH hits it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Greenhouse
Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 20 Aug 2016
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 10:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

SunBeam wrote:
If code doesn't break when enabling a breakpoint, you haven't met the condition for that. Maybe you need to do something in-game so it's triggered. Otherwise, I don't see how code can function without the debugged hitting it. CE's VEH hits it.

I already tried with the help of mgostIH but it's not possible. Thanks anyways.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SunBeam
I post too much
Reputation: 65

Joined: 25 Feb 2005
Posts: 4023
Location: Romania

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 1:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yet another online game with some sort of memory protection Smile I'm quickly getting the hang of these "thanks anyways" replies Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Greenhouse
Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 20 Aug 2016
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SunBeam wrote:
Yet another online game with some sort of memory protection Smile I'm quickly getting the hang of these "thanks anyways" replies Razz

It's not an online game. It's just a function that's not used, it's there but does nothing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
++METHOS
I post too much
Reputation: 92

Joined: 29 Oct 2010
Posts: 4197

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 6:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1. Check to see if there are any instructions that 'access' the value, that can be used for your breakpoint.
2. Launch the target by breaking at startup (before any code gets initialized) and set your breakpoint before the code gets executed.
3. You may have to write a script and set your breakpoint inside your codecave so that you can isolate the address that you are wanting to analyze.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Greenhouse
Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 20 Aug 2016
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

++METHOS wrote:
1. Check to see if there are any instructions that 'access' the value, that can be used for your breakpoint.
2. Launch the target by breaking at startup (before any code gets initialized) and set your breakpoint before the code gets executed.
3. You may have to write a script and set your breakpoint inside your codecave so that you can isolate the address that you are wanting to analyze.

I tried everything. And I checked the function with IDA but it's just a dead end.
The function calls nothing but I know it's the correct one. As I said, it's an unused function that worked on previous versions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
++METHOS
I post too much
Reputation: 92

Joined: 29 Oct 2010
Posts: 4197

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 6:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, you tried everything as described in my previous post?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Greenhouse
Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 20 Aug 2016
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

++METHOS wrote:
So, you tried everything as described in my previous post?

The last one I didn't but I don't know how to do it. If you want to pm me your Skype or whatever to explain how to do it... So you see what I mean with what I'm saying. The function I have is from a previous feature.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zanzer
I post too much
Reputation: 126

Joined: 09 Jun 2013
Posts: 3278

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 6:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is this Dark Souls?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Greenhouse
Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 20 Aug 2016
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 6:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zanzer wrote:
Is this Dark Souls?

No, it's Hello Neighbor.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Cheat Engine All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

CE Wiki   IRC (#CEF)   Twitter
Third party websites