View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
GG Grandmaster Cheater Supreme
Reputation: 4
Joined: 20 Jan 2008 Posts: 1589 Location: Australia
|
Posted: Sat Mar 22, 2008 11:51 pm Post subject: [need help] making website |
|
|
ok i have to questions
first is about input boxes....how do i see what people put in them?
is there a thing like mailto but it doesnt open outlook lol
like it goes to a server?
second question is what is a good webhosting service that is free
i will rep+ for help  _________________
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kjmarket Grandmaster Cheater
Reputation: 0
Joined: 11 Oct 2006 Posts: 600
|
Posted: Sun Mar 23, 2008 12:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
For your last question, that all depends on your preference...like if you mind ads or not. Most free providers force ads on your site. This one is one that doesn't. Check it out. [url]http://www. 110mb .com/[/url]
As for input boxes, there are different ways to handle that depending on what you are trying to do. Elaborate a little more on what you want. _________________
I can hear the voices of opcodes. "Come and NOP me!" Come and NOP me!" |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
GG Grandmaster Cheater Supreme
Reputation: 4
Joined: 20 Jan 2008 Posts: 1589 Location: Australia
|
Posted: Sun Mar 23, 2008 12:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
i just want a username and password (for registration)
just normal tect boxes with a submit button
how do i recieve it or get it on a server?
edit: cant sign up on 110mb cause hotmail is a "unreliable email provider" _________________
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kjmarket Grandmaster Cheater
Reputation: 0
Joined: 11 Oct 2006 Posts: 600
|
Posted: Sun Mar 23, 2008 12:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
Well, thats not something that can be done with plain old HTML. A basic method would be to use javascript, which you can google and find out how, but it wont keep anyone above a newb level out. If you really need password protection, then I'd look into some progs that do it for you, unless you know some web programming like ASP. Another option is if you have a free host that allows for a sql server, you could look into setting up opassword protection using php and a myqsl server or something. _________________
I can hear the voices of opcodes. "Come and NOP me!" Come and NOP me!" |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
GG Grandmaster Cheater Supreme
Reputation: 4
Joined: 20 Jan 2008 Posts: 1589 Location: Australia
|
Posted: Sun Mar 23, 2008 12:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
um.....you lost me
i heard about asp
how does it work
and what about that free web hosting _________________
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Heartless I post too much
Reputation: 0
Joined: 03 Dec 2006 Posts: 2436
|
Posted: Sun Mar 23, 2008 9:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
If you want something to host your website use 110mb.com.
If you want to make an input box, check out this website
http://www.web-source.net/html_codes_chart.htm _________________
What dosen't kill you, usually does the second time. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
GG Grandmaster Cheater Supreme
Reputation: 4
Joined: 20 Jan 2008 Posts: 1589 Location: Australia
|
Posted: Sun Mar 23, 2008 5:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
tanks i fixed the input boxes
and i will try
<don't bypass the filter>
ModEdit: No warn/ban given since it was a helpful reply and all that _________________
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MrQuidam Advanced Cheater
Reputation: 0
Joined: 15 Mar 2008 Posts: 78
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
GG Grandmaster Cheater Supreme
Reputation: 4
Joined: 20 Jan 2008 Posts: 1589 Location: Australia
|
Posted: Sun Mar 23, 2008 6:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
tanks for the help XD
u want rep+ _________________
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Lorrenzo Moderator
Reputation: 4
Joined: 02 Jun 2006 Posts: 3744
|
Posted: Sun Mar 23, 2008 6:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I couldn't tell you about the input boxes, but I can direct you over to Freeweb7.com.
Great site, better than 110mb and freehostia in my opinion. _________________
LAWLrrenzolicious |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
GG Grandmaster Cheater Supreme
Reputation: 4
Joined: 20 Jan 2008 Posts: 1589 Location: Australia
|
Posted: Sun Mar 23, 2008 8:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
thankyou
i really need this input box thing -.-" _________________
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
TheIndianGuy Advanced Cheater
Reputation: 102
Joined: 14 Jan 2007 Posts: 87
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Darkness Stranger Newbie cheater
Reputation: 0
Joined: 21 Aug 2007 Posts: 13
|
Posted: Sun Mar 23, 2008 11:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Zelda, i had the same questions you do, but you need something called
PHP.
Ever noticed most signup forms at forums are almost the same?
It's because they're using the same PHP format, and i guess you can download them |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
GG Grandmaster Cheater Supreme
Reputation: 4
Joined: 20 Jan 2008 Posts: 1589 Location: Australia
|
Posted: Mon Mar 24, 2008 1:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
ahhhhhh
i still need help.....
-.- _________________
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MrQuidam Advanced Cheater
Reputation: 0
Joined: 15 Mar 2008 Posts: 78
|
Posted: Mon Mar 24, 2008 9:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hey,
Unlike most people here, instead of learning languages like c++, delphi, etc, I spent my time learning how to build sites and learn site scripting. So, I like this topic because I feel it gives me a place to shine
So, because I feel like you still need help (Your last post is what gave me that opinion), I decided to make a nice little script for you that I think will help, and I made it fully commented so you know what everything does
Ok, so first off make 2 pages in notepad, dreamweaver, frontpage, or w/e you want. Name one form.php (<--- Form for user to fill out) and the other phptut.php (<--- Script the processes the user's input)
Ok, so pretty much just copy and paste this in the form.php page:
Code: | <form action="phptut.php" method="post" name="form" id="form"> <!-- action is the path to the php form we are going to make. -->
Your Name :<br>
<input name="name" type="text" id="name" /><br><br> <!-- The name and id attributes are what are used in the php script for variables. These MUST be the same and match the php variables (Everything is CaSeSeNsEtIvE) -->
Your Email : <br>
<input name="email" type="text" id="email" /><br><br>
How Did you Find Out About Our Site? <br>
<textarea name="message" cols="40" rows="5" id="message"></textarea> <br><br>
<input type="submit" name="Submit" value="Submit Form" />
</form> |
Then, in the phptut.php file, copy and paste this:
Code: | <?php
### VARIBLES ###
// These are the variables that are given in the html form we made in the form.php doc.
$artist = stripcslashes($_POST['name']);
$songtitle = stripcslashes($_POST['email']);
$shoutbox = stripcslashes($_POST['message']);
// If any of the above fields are empty the page will refresh to a page you want with a message saying something of your choice.
if(!$name or !$email or !$message)
{
header("Refresh: 2; url=page_that_gets_refreshed_to_if_they_didnt_enter_all_the_fields.html");
echo "You did not enter all of the required fields!"; //Here you can enter the message you want your people to view when they leave a field blank.
}
else
{
//The below codes are different options you can have your form do. Remove the /* and */ to uncomment them and make them work.
//Leave this info variable as is. Its used with some of the functions.
$logfile = "file_you_want_logged_to.html";
//Leave this info variable as is. Its used with all the different functions.
$info = "Name: {$name}
Email: {$email}
Message: {$message}
Name: {$name}";
//This code takes the info the user inputted and records it into a file of your choosing that you listed in the logfile variable.
/* $logdetails = $info;
$fp = fopen($logfile, "a");
fwrite($fp, $logdetails);
fclose($fp); */
//This is the code that sends the inputted info to your email.
/* mail("[email protected]", "Subject of Message", $info); */
header("Refresh: 1; url=page_you_want_users_to_get_sent_to_if_they_enter_all_the_fields");
echo "Information Saved!"; //Here is the message given if the user entered all the needed fields
}
?> |
I commented this pretty well I think so I think you should be able to mess with it as you please. That should work pretty mcuh right off the bat, you just need to uncomment some things that I noted in the phptut.php for it to work.
If you have any questions, or it doesn't work for some reason (It should, but I made the code itself pretty quickly, spent more time on the actual commenting ), you can PM me, post here, or...Yea, I guess thats the best way
Hope this helped
P.S. - You need php enabled on your hoster for this to work! Most come with it though so its not really a big deal, I just felt like I should tell you. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|