Cheat Engine Forum Index Cheat Engine
The Official Site of Cheat Engine

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Break when specific data is being written to the memory

View previous topic :: View next topic  
luminebot
How do I cheat?

PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2024 10:53 pm    Post subject: Break when specific data is being written to the memory Reply with quote

Hi there!

First of all, I'm new to CE and debugging. I do apologize if what I'm trying to achieve doesn't make any sense.

I'm trying to figure out the address of function/method that generates a specific string. Say, the function that I'd like to know always generates the following string:

Code:
abcdef123

The string is not constant, and it is not stored within a static address, so it always spawns in a random address. Doing "Find out what accesses/writes this memory address" doesn't work because once the string is generated, no one actually reads or modifies the value (maybe there's read, but it will be far too late when I find the address via scanning).

Do any of you have any idea how I can achieve this? I was thinking to break the debugger if there's somehow a memory that match certain pattern (e.g if the debugger / CE find a
Code:
abcde
pattern somewhere in the memory after write operation, it will break immediately) but I don't know if that possible.
ParkourPenguin
I post too much

PostPosted: Fri Feb 16, 2024 1:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's practically impossible.

If you know what action you have to take in order for the string to be generated, you can try ultimap or code filter (memory viewer -> tools) to find relevant code.

Maybe you can find a pointer to the string and find the relevant code from that. Try the pointer scanner- allow non-static base addresses, max level 2 or 3, don't restart the game between rescans.