Cheat Engine Forum Index Cheat Engine
The Official Site of Cheat Engine

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

How to pass parameters to CELUA_ExecuteFunctionByReference

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Cheat Engine Lua Scripting
View previous topic :: View next topic  
sklskl
How do I cheat?

PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2023 1:35 am    Post subject: How to pass parameters to CELUA_ExecuteFunctionByReference Reply with quote

I'm in a bit over my head, but I'm very close to accomplishing what I'm trying to do. I'm very new to assembly, so please keep that in mind if you are so kind as to respond.

I followed Dark Byte's tutorial on CELUA_ExecuteFunctionByReference. I'm testing out some scripts on Do Not Feed the Monkeys 2099. I've copied the code in the tutorial and made minor changes and it runs and I can get it to do some stuff, but I can't get it to do what I want it to do. If I leave everything alone, I can access and display the values of the parameters that are passed to it, but I'm not sure how to set the parameters I want.

The tutorial script passes some address to the function. I want to pass 1 address and read what's inside, then alter it. I also want to pass an integer telling the function how much to change the value.

I have a simple lua function like this:

function changeValue(address,value)
if condition then
oldvalue = readInteger(address)
newvalue = oldvalue + value
writeInteger(address,newvalue)
end
end

Next, we initialize everything:
alloc(luafunctionid,4)
alloc(luafunctionname,256)

Next, there's a bunch of memory allocation stuff I don't understand and moving some values around:

newmem:
//save the state
sub rsp,20+a*8
//store parameters you might be interested in
mov [rsp+20],rax
//store these registers as they may get changed:
mov [rsp+40],rcx