Cheat Engine Forum Index Cheat Engine
The Official Site of Cheat Engine

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Cheat Engine Hex Autoconversion to DLL+Offset ?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
whismerhill
How do I cheat?

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 11:08 am    Post subject: Cheat Engine Hex Autoconversion to DLL+Offset ? Reply with quote

hi,
first I'm a noob albeit a little programmer.
I managed to follow the tutorial up until the multiple pointers
which just got me confused after a while :p

I recently used cheat engine 6.6 and tried dealing with pointers (apparently simple pointers)
and I made a discovery of sort:
I first found a bunch of addresses for multiple values, and I could refind them each executable relaunch.(with a search)
then I found a pointer listed as green (so a static address if I'm right)
I added it as a pointer
however restarting cheat engine & the executable left the pointer to ??????
so I researched the pointer again
I found an address that held the pointer
it was 0x6a0c7a6c again listed as green and it pointed to 0x05765630 (however that last one varies obviously)
I first added it as a normal address
I then added it as a pointer

now restarting the executable
the pointer was P->????????? again

HOWEVER the normal address (not pointer) of 0x6a0c7a6c got Automagically translated to "D3D9.DLL + 37A6C" by cheatengine itself I suppose cause I did nothing of the sort Smile

then replacing the address of the pointer to "D3D9.DLL + 37A6C" made the pointer working all the time over executable restarts

questions :
-can anyone sort of explain what happened there ?
-if cheat engine does this translation/conversion for normal addresses why doesn't it do it for pointers ?