Cheat Engine Forum Index Cheat Engine
The Official Site of Cheat Engine
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


CE 6.5 bugs
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Cheat Engine
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
++METHOS
I post too much
Reputation: 92

Joined: 29 Oct 2010
Posts: 4197

PostPosted: Tue Jan 19, 2016 10:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I mentioned something about this here as I was reminded of it and thought that it might be a bug. But, I suppose this could be considered as a request.

The added, numerical suffix that is tagged to all labels/addresses when combining multiple injection points is also incremental.

So, instead of:

Code:
inject
inject2
inject3
inject4


we get:

Code:
inject
inject2
inject5
inject9
inject14


This doesn't pose a problem if we are just using generic injection points. However, if we want to use a custom name, for the sake of keeping track of what relates to what, it would be better to follow the name given e.g.:

If I want to use ammo, health, money, I still get:

Code:

registersymbol(ammo)
newmem
code
return

registersymbol(health)
newmem2
code2
return2

registersymbol(money)
newmem5
code5
return5


It would be better to get:

Code:

registersymbol(ammo)
newmem_ammo
code_ammo
return_ammo

registersymbol(health)
newmem_health
code_health
return_health

registersymbol(money)
newmem_money
code_money
return_money

etc.


I know I requested this some time ago as described in the bottom-half of this post, but this would save a lot of time when working with combined scripts.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Csimbi
I post too much
Reputation: 94

Joined: 14 Jul 2007
Posts: 3110

PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2016 6:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Homeworld: Deserts of Kharak x64

When I select Mono->Activate Mono Features, I get a 'Failure to Launch' message.

Unity 5.2.3 it seems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hhhuut
Grandmaster Cheater
Reputation: 6

Joined: 08 Feb 2015
Posts: 607

PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2016 7:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have a debugger still active?

Because I had the same problem, but after stopping all debugs and waiting a few seconds worked for me ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Csimbi
I post too much
Reputation: 94

Joined: 14 Jul 2007
Posts: 3110

PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2016 3:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're right, thanks for the tip!

And... crash... Oh, well. No mono then.

Interesting.
CE collects mono data for a while, then it stops.
CE allows activating mono features again, but it won't give the right structures in data dissect.

Seems that when there's a breakpoint, it'll crash.
Also, it seems that after a break and trace it'll crash (just like as if there were a breakpoint).

This just popped though I am not sure that's the problem:
Quote:
Error:C:\UTIL\CE\autorun\monoscript.lua:334: attempt to concatenate a nil value


Also, CE seems to go zombie when I select AA->Template->Code Injection from the menu. Was working up until this point, went zombie just then, the error popped when ended the game's process.



CE_failure.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  7.47 KB
 Viewed:  12153 Time(s)

CE_failure.png


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
predprey
Master Cheater
Reputation: 24

Joined: 08 Oct 2015
Posts: 486

PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2016 10:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the chm help file's search function seems to not be working for CE6.5. tested working in 6.4.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Csimbi
I post too much
Reputation: 94

Joined: 14 Jul 2007
Posts: 3110

PostPosted: Thu Jan 28, 2016 10:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Messing around in Metro 2033 redux
I got this after a while (popped when I set a 'find out what accesses this address' on an address in the table).



CE_Debugger_Crash.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  3.55 KB
 Viewed:  11999 Time(s)

CE_Debugger_Crash.png


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hhhuut
Grandmaster Cheater
Reputation: 6

Joined: 08 Feb 2015
Posts: 607

PostPosted: Thu Jan 28, 2016 10:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Which type of debugger did you loose?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Csimbi
I post too much
Reputation: 94

Joined: 14 Jul 2007
Posts: 3110

PostPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2016 1:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Windows 7 x64, VEH

Occurs again and again after a while. I wonder if there's a resource leak somewhere.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hhhuut
Grandmaster Cheater
Reputation: 6

Joined: 08 Feb 2015
Posts: 607

PostPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2016 3:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No idea ... I use the VEH every day and never had a crash :/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Csimbi
I post too much
Reputation: 94

Joined: 14 Jul 2007
Posts: 3110

PostPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2016 9:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Game crashed, and I get this when I try to save the table.


CE_AccessViolation.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  4.29 KB
 Viewed:  11919 Time(s)

CE_AccessViolation.png


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
++METHOS
I post too much
Reputation: 92

Joined: 29 Oct 2010
Posts: 4197

PostPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2016 9:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're still running CE as admin?
You've tried other debuggers with only basic settings?
You've disabled any third-party software that could be interfering?
The target doesn't have anti-cheat/anti-debugger implemented?
Does it happen if you try on a different target?

Other than that, I'd make sure that you do not have any other instances of CE or the target process still running in the background and try again. Wait about 2 minutes after reattaching CE before running the debugger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Csimbi
I post too much
Reputation: 94

Joined: 14 Jul 2007
Posts: 3110

PostPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2016 10:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

++METHOS wrote:
You're still running CE as admin?
You've tried other debuggers with only basic settings?
You've disabled any third-party software that could be interfering?
The target doesn't have anti-cheat/anti-debugger implemented?
Does it happen if you try on a different target?

Other than that, I'd make sure that you do not have any other instances of CE or the target process still running in the background and try again. Wait about 2 minutes after reattaching CE before running the debugger.

Yes - CE does not run without admin rights.
No, other debuggers won't work.
No, I did not disable anything. CE 6.4 worked flawlessly on the same setup, so I do not see why CE 6.5 should not.
No. But even if it had anti-cheat/anti debug features, it should not be able to cause CE any issues.
Different targets exhibit different symptoms - see the earlier reports on Unity games.

I do not reattach CE. When the game crashes (due to my bad code/hack attempts), I close CE as well (that's how I generally manage the CE leaks).

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
++METHOS
I post too much
Reputation: 92

Joined: 29 Oct 2010
Posts: 4197

PostPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2016 11:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Csimbi wrote:
Yes - CE does not run without admin rights.
- http://forum.cheatengine.org/viewtopic.php?p=5601954#5601954

Csimbi wrote:
No. But even if it had anti-cheat/anti debug features, it should not be able to cause CE any issues.
-Maybe it shouldn't, but it can, unfortunately. Sad

Csimbi wrote:
Different targets exhibit different symptoms - see the earlier reports on Unity games.
-I know. That's the only reason I responded to your post because it seems to be an isolated case, relative to the target or your computer, not a bug associated with CE. But, I could be wrong. I am only trying to help...I have nothing else to do at the moment. Very Happy

Csimbi wrote:
I do not reattach CE. When the game crashes (due to my bad code/hack attempts), I close CE as well (that's how I generally manage the CE leaks).
-Yeah, I meant, reattaching after restarting both, CE and the target process...not reattaching in the same session.

Have you tried using the kernel routines or a different breakpoint method? I see that the debugger doesn't always cause the game to crash...which may be indicative of some anti-cheat measures (e.g. analyzing key segments of code). Browsing some of the old threads regarding this particular game, I don't see anything about anyone having problems though.

EDIT:
I know that I am stating the obvious...which is really annoying (sorry)...but sometimes we forget things. Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Csimbi
I post too much
Reputation: 94

Joined: 14 Jul 2007
Posts: 3110

PostPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2016 1:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

++METHOS wrote:
Csimbi wrote:
Yes - CE does not run without admin rights.
- http://forum.cheatengine.org/viewtopic.php?p=5601954#5601954

I get that no pipeline error, nothing else.


++METHOS wrote:
Csimbi wrote:
No. But even if it had anti-cheat/anti debug features, it should not be able to cause CE any issues.
-Maybe it shouldn't, but it can, unfortunately. Sad

Hmmm. Okay, but then shouldn't that kick in the moment I start debugging (and not and hour later when I am done with plenty of traces and stuff)?

++METHOS wrote:
Csimbi wrote:
Different targets exhibit different symptoms - see the earlier reports on Unity games.
-I know. That's the only reason I responded to your post because it seems to be an isolated case, relative to the target or your computer, not a bug associated with CE. But, I could be wrong. I am only trying to help...I have nothing else to do at the moment. Very Happy

Yes, I know. And thanks, appreciated!

++METHOS wrote:
Csimbi wrote:
I do not reattach CE. When the game crashes (due to my bad code/hack attempts), I close CE as well (that's how I generally manage the CE leaks).
-Yeah, I meant, reattaching after restarting both, CE and the target process...not reattaching in the same session.

Well, it's either the game that crashes or CE - I always restart the one that did not crash as well to ensure a clean setup.

++METHOS wrote:
Have you tried using the kernel routines or a different breakpoint method? I see that the debugger doesn't always cause the game to crash...which may be indicative of some anti-cheat measures (e.g. analyzing key segments of code). Browsing some of the old threads regarding this particular game, I don't see anything about anyone having problems though.

No, I have not tried anything - this setup worked with everything on CE 6.4 and never had any problems.
Not even now - I mean, not immediately; only after a while.

++METHOS wrote:
EDIT:
I know that I am stating the obvious...which is really annoying (sorry)...but sometimes we forget things. Cool

Yep, so it's good to go through them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
++METHOS
I post too much
Reputation: 92

Joined: 29 Oct 2010
Posts: 4197

PostPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2016 1:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Csimbi wrote:
++METHOS wrote:
Csimbi wrote:
No. But even if it had anti-cheat/anti debug features, it should not be able to cause CE any issues.
-Maybe it shouldn't, but it can, unfortunately. Sad
Hmmm. Okay, but then shouldn't that kick in the moment I start debugging (and not and hour later when I am done with plenty of traces and stuff)?
-I would think so...unless the debugger isn't terminating/detaching properly at times. Sometimes, I'll check an address to see what's accessing it, and while the debugger is still running, I'll right-click to check to see if the opcode accesses other addresses...but I'll sometimes forget to stop the second check and CE fails to detach (sometimes).
Some anti-cheat schemes may only monitor key regions of code, also, but I really don't know if that's what this is.


Csimbi wrote:
++METHOS wrote:
Have you tried using the kernel routines or a different breakpoint method? I see that the debugger doesn't always cause the game to crash...which may be indicative of some anti-cheat measures (e.g. analyzing key segments of code). Browsing some of the old threads regarding this particular game, I don't see anything about anyone having problems though.
No, I have not tried anything - this setup worked with everything on CE 6.4 and never had any problems.
Not even now - I mean, not immediately; only after a while.
-You mean, you ran this same target/version before, with CE 6.4, without any problems?

If you like, I can grab a copy of the game when I have time and check things out on my end to see if I experience the same problems. I am also running Win7 x64.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Cheat Engine All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
Page 5 of 10

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

CE Wiki   IRC (#CEF)   Twitter
Third party websites