Cheat Engine Forum Index Cheat Engine
The Official Site of Cheat Engine

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

[HELP]Pointers from scanning used in trainers

View previous topic :: View next topic  
CyberAce
How do I cheat?

PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2015 1:26 pm    Post subject: [HELP]Pointers from scanning used in trainers Reply with quote

SIMPLE EXPLANATION:

I have been able to successfully use cheatengine to find addresses, inject pieces of code and modify values where necessary. The problem I have is when I try to use this in Code. How Do I use the results from a pointer scan like "target.exe" + 748345 in code to read or write values.

DETAILED EXPLANATION AND EXTRA QUESTIONS:

I know I'm asking a lot of questions but please bear with me. I'm a beginner and need help. I'm sure everyone was like me (- the stupid) at one point.

I have a few questions:

What is the number/offset added to the module?
like 748345 in "target.exe" + 748345

Why do most source codes I download and read through use addresses? Im talking about something like 0x45B7B87A and a few offsets maybe 0xC4 and 0x56, and why don't I ever see anything like "target.exe" + 748345 in the source code of a working hack or tutorial? I always see a address.

Is it because no one (I mean the advanced users who are actually creating most of the hack) finds addresses using what accesses this address to find the pointers from a static address?

I did a bit of research and found out these "target.exe" are called modules and they have a value when loaded in memory or something.
On another website I found a way to get the base address of the module and apply offsets to that using dwGetModuleBaseAddress. (I haven't been successfully been able to use it yet) .