Cheat Engine Forum Index Cheat Engine
The Official Site of Cheat Engine
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Is there a way to show a message from asm?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Cheat Engine
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Dr.Disrespect
Grandmaster Cheater
Reputation: 3

Joined: 17 Feb 2016
Posts: 526

PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2016 7:52 pm    Post subject: Is there a way to show a message from asm? Reply with quote

Sorry for the misleading title, I don't know how to define my question. But here is what I want to do, I want to make my trainer show a message box, such as "gold has been increased", and I want to code in ASM, not in Lua, which has the "showMessage" function. How to do that? Is it possible?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ParkourPenguin
I post too much
Reputation: 140

Joined: 06 Jul 2014
Posts: 4299

PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2016 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The easiest way I can think of is to use the MessageBox function:
Code:
globalalloc(derp,2048)
label(caption)
label(text)
createthread(derp)

derp:
  push 0
  push caption
  push text
  push 0
  call USER32.MessageBoxA
  ret
  db CC CC CC CC
caption:
  db 'Cheat Activated',0
text:
  db 'Gold has been increased!',0

_________________
I don't know where I'm going, but I'll figure it out when I get there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dr.Disrespect
Grandmaster Cheater
Reputation: 3

Joined: 17 Feb 2016
Posts: 526

PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2016 10:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ParkourPenguin wrote:
The easiest way I can think of is to use the MessageBox function:
Code:
globalalloc(derp,2048)
label(caption)
label(text)
createthread(derp)

derp:
  push 0
  push caption
  push text
  push 0
  call USER32.MessageBoxA
  ret
  db CC CC CC CC
caption:
  db 'Cheat Activated',0
text:
  db 'Gold has been increased!',0

Thanks a lot, Penguin. Smile
I suppose I can use eax instead of "text", right? So I can display the value of eax to the user. BTW, why push two 0s? Is it because messagebox function has four parameters?
Code:

push 0
push caption
push eax     <-------------------can I do this?
push 0
call .....


Edit:
One more question: why use this after calling "USER32.MessageBoxA":
Code:

ret
db CC CC CC CC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ParkourPenguin
I post too much
Reputation: 140

Joined: 06 Jul 2014
Posts: 4299

PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2016 10:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If eax points to a string, then yes. Otherwise, no. If eax contains a number you want to display, you'll need a string representation of that number. If you can find some library function which converts an integer to a string, great. If not, then you'll have to implement that yourself.

Yes, the MessageBox function has four parameters. Look at the documentation I linked to for more information.

That db CC... is a sequence of int3 instructions I use to distinguish executable code from the data it uses. It's not needed, but it's helpful when viewing that memory in the disassembler to tell what's meant to be executable code and what's not. I also sometimes use that to align the data on a 4-byte or 8-byte boundary, but that doesn't really matter that much in this case.

_________________
I don't know where I'm going, but I'll figure it out when I get there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dr.Disrespect
Grandmaster Cheater
Reputation: 3

Joined: 17 Feb 2016
Posts: 526

PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2016 12:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ParkourPenguin wrote:
If eax points to a string, then yes. Otherwise, no. If eax contains a number you want to display, you'll need a string representation of that number. If you can find some library function which converts an integer to a string, great. If not, then you'll have to implement that yourself.

Yes, the MessageBox function has four parameters. Look at the documentation I linked to for more information.

That db CC... is a sequence of int3 instructions I use to distinguish executable code from the data it uses. It's not needed, but it's helpful when viewing that memory in the disassembler to tell what's meant to be executable code and what's not. I also sometimes use that to align the data on a 4-byte or 8-byte boundary, but that doesn't really matter that much in this case.


Sorry for the late reply, Penguin. Thank you so much. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Cheat Engine All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

CE Wiki   IRC (#CEF)   Twitter
Third party websites