Cheat Engine Forum Index Cheat Engine
The Official Site of Cheat Engine
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Break and Trace Question

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Cheat Engine
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
fred26
Expert Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 20 Dec 2014
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2015 5:42 pm    Post subject: Break and Trace Question Reply with quote

Can I exclude any modules in the Break and Trace feature ?

When I do Break and Trace, there are lengthy unnecessary systems or msvcrt function calls that I want to avoid.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Geri
Moderator
Reputation: 111

Joined: 05 Feb 2010
Posts: 5636

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2015 6:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Step over is stepping over every function, but you can't specify to step over certain functions only. At least not by default. But there may be some magical trick in lua or something similar. I don't know.
_________________
My trainers can be found here: http://www.szemelyesintegracio.hu/cheats

If you are interested in any of my crappy articles/tutorials about CE and game hacking, you can find them here:
http://www.szemelyesintegracio.hu/cheats/41-game-hacking-articles

Don't request cheats or updates.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fred26
Expert Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 20 Dec 2014
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2015 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. Two questions here:

1) Can you simulate a trace via Lua?

2) Can you get the module's address via Lua?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fred26
Expert Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 20 Dec 2014
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Tue Mar 31, 2015 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No takers on this one?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zanzer
I post too much
Reputation: 126

Joined: 09 Jun 2013
Posts: 3278

PostPosted: Tue Mar 31, 2015 9:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Press F1 and search under the Script Engine topic.

Code:
createProcess(path, parameters OPTIONAL, debug OPTIONAL, breakonentrypoint OPTIONAL) : Creates a process. If debug is true it will be created using the windows debugger and if breakonentry is true it will cause a breakpoint to occur on entrypoint

Code:
debug_setBreakpoint(address, size OPTIONAL, trigger OPTIONAL) : sets a breakpoint of a specific size at the given address. if trigger is bptExecute then size is ignored. If trigger is ignored then it will be of type bptExecute, which obviously also ignores the size then as well

Code:
getAddress("game.exe")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fred26
Expert Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 20 Dec 2014
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2015 8:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. One question, if I need to do a trace via Lua.

Should I:

1) Set a BreakPoint
2) In debugger_onBreakpoint() , I will do my stuff and then debug_continueFromBreakpoint(co_stepinto).

How can I break on the next OpCode ?

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fred26
Expert Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 20 Dec 2014
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2015 12:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I figure it out.

Now how can I find the next EIP ?

Easy when no JMPs or Calls opcodes, but has anyone implemented this?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fred26
Expert Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 20 Dec 2014
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2015 7:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No one?

DarkByte?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 457

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 25262
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2015 8:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

debug_continueFromBreakpoint(co_stepover) usually breaks on the next EIP
it checks if it's a call and sets the breakpoint on the instruction after it (else it goes for stepinto). It will fail if an exception happens inside that call causing the function to never return, so beware of that

_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.

Like my help? Join me on Patreon so i can keep helping
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
fred26
Expert Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 20 Dec 2014
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Sat Apr 04, 2015 8:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks DarkByte. But what about if I want to have the next EIP winthin a call or jump oppcode? Should I parse the current opccode and see if it will jump or call and "construct" the EIP and breakpoint on it? Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Cheat Engine All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

CE Wiki   IRC (#CEF)   Twitter
Third party websites