Cheat Engine Forum Index Cheat Engine
The Official Site of Cheat Engine
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


CheatEngine Breakpoint crash and other bug

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Cheat Engine
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dlpb
Advanced Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2014 4:37 pm    Post subject: CheatEngine Breakpoint crash and other bug Reply with quote

Bug 1:

When using breakpoints (I am using with Final Fantasy VII PC), Cheatengine 6.4 eventually crashes the game. There is no error. No nothing. The window just disappears; the process terminates.

Bug 2:

Breakpoints again. After a certain while, no more hardware breakpoints get set (even though I am removing them one at a time). No software ones get asked either. I check the breakpoint list and it is empty. 6.3 used to show me the breakpoints and then refuse to delete them. This issue did not exist (if I remember) with 6.0.

Bug 3.

The Memory View window is not showing the opcode info properly for imul dx,dx,007F (for example). The window ends up showing Imul dx, dx with no value. It probably does it no matter the register. It WILL show the right value if you don't use the zero (imul dx,dx,7f, i.e., one byte).

Bug 4.
Sometimes the program shows negative values erroneously (they should be positive). For example, moving a one byte value to eax. Is this normal?

Request:

The search for assembly code window could remain open after a scan. It could show the search info so you don't have to exit and reopen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 457

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 25262
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2014 5:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1: What kind of breakpoints ? Access. Writes, Execute ?
And which debugger interface ? VEH, windows ?

How quickly do you set/remove breakpoints?

2: Rightclick the breakpoint list and check the shadow breakpoints
if it's still empty, check the threadlist and see if some stray breakpoints are left. (DRx field are filled in)

3: ok

4: Do you have the exact bytes of such an instruction?
Some instructions will sign extend the given byte, and others will zero extend it. If sign extended, it will be a negative
I probably have a few instructions marked wrong.


search assembly:
You do know you don't have to close the results? You can do a new search even when another one is still going on (or has finished and showing the results)

I guess I could keep it open and show the result window under it's current position instead of on top

_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.

Like my help? Join me on Patreon so i can keep helping
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
dlpb
Advanced Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2014 5:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dark Byte wrote:
1: What kind of breakpoints ? Access. Writes, Execute ?
And which debugger interface ? VEH, windows ?


Simple F5 over the instruction. Windows.

Quote:
How quickly do you set/remove breakpoints?


It can vary... but I usually always remove a breakpoint by hitting F5 again and then F9, before adding a new one.


Quote:
4: Do you have the exact bytes of such an instruction?
Some instructions will sign extend the given byte, and others will zero extend it. If sign extended, it will be a negative
I probably have a few instructions marked wrong.


Yeah, this one should not be negative?
Mov al, D8 (-73)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 457

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 25262
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2014 6:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mov al,d8/-73 can be interpreted both ways (it's a 1 byte access so no extending of any kind is going on)

if it represents a 'char' type, it would be negative, if it represents an 'unsigned char' type, it would be positive


But do you have the bytes? because d8 and -73 have nothing in common which might be a bug itself

_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.

Like my help? Join me on Patreon so i can keep helping
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
dlpb
Advanced Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2014 6:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

B0 D8

Bear in mind that CheatEngine created those bytes from me manually entering mov al, d8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dlpb
Advanced Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2014 1:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another bug:

As far back as 6.0 there has been some sort of issue with "find out what accesses/writes"

The target process will eventually die, especially when monitoring fast changing memory.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 457

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 25262
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2014 3:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're sure 6.4 still does that ?
check "wait after gui updates" in debugger settings

_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.

Like my help? Join me on Patreon so i can keep helping
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
dlpb
Advanced Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2014 3:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've done that and will let you know Smile

One other small request...

The jump "jnge" is better labelled "jl"

It is much nicer and easier to understand. Small nitpick, I know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dlpb
Advanced Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2014 4:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The "Lock Current Rowsize" option is not being saved.

Also, any chance of adding feature to change memory view font size etc?

Also, cheatengine seems to do its saving to the registry(?) which means using older versions of cheat engine conflict.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dark Byte
Site Admin
Reputation: 457

Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 25262
Location: The netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2014 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll look into saving the rowsize, but is it really important? It feels like the same category as the display type (byte, byte decimal, word, word decmal, etc...) which is also not stored

changing hexview fontsizes during runtime is a bit tricky because during initialization it gets the size of the font used and uses that information to setup specific size information like which x position of the bytefield would correspond to the x position on the textfield size (which is also one of the reasons multibyte textmode isn't currently supported)
I'll give it a look but I can't promise anything

New versions just add new data to the registry. Older versions should not conflict as they shouldn't even look for those values (at least not newer than 6.2)

And running multiple versions really isn't recommended (Especially the issues with injected dll's like vehdebug can cause severe instabilities since windows has this 'feature' where it overwrites new files with old files in the background if they where in use previously)

_________________
Do not ask me about online cheats. I don't know any and wont help finding them.

Like my help? Join me on Patreon so i can keep helping
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
dlpb
Advanced Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2014 6:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd say that saving those two options is a plus, yeah... It really gets frustrating to keep setting them Smile Very Happy

Oh yeah, one other small niggle.

When saving bytes with copy option, a lot of spaces are being added to the end. And the bytes are not being spaced like so > 01 02 03 04. With One space between.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Cheat Engine All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

CE Wiki   IRC (#CEF)   Twitter
Third party websites