Cheat Engine Forum Index Cheat Engine
The Official Site of Cheat Engine
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


About 64bit OS and 4gig ram
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Computer Talk
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Nick :3
I posted too much crap
Reputation: 5

Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 2224

PostPosted: Mon Dec 01, 2008 8:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Foxonn G31MX/46GMX series

(I know its a cheap/crappy mobo but i had no more money ;-Wink

Ive looked thru every single option

_________________
Ego vos irrumabo et confutuabo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kls85
I post too much
Reputation: 22

Joined: 18 Jul 2008
Posts: 2757
Location: Under ur bed

PostPosted: Mon Dec 01, 2008 8:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

According to the board that you have which is the
Foxconn G31MX-K, this board uses a Intel G31 Express chipset.

The Intel G31 Express chipset support only up to 4GB of ram and it does not support memory remapping (that's why there is no such option in the bios).

And because of this when you install 4GB of ram you will still see less, therefore what you have right now is a chipset limitation issue and it does not matter whether your using a 32bit or 64bit operating system.

There is no fix for the problem your having and the only way to do it is to change your board with a chipset that can support more than 4GB of ram which is the next one up the Intel G35.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nick :3
I posted too much crap
Reputation: 5

Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 2224

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 4:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kls85 wrote:
According to the board that you have which is the
Foxconn G31MX-K, this board uses a Intel G31 Express chipset.

The Intel G31 Express chipset support only up to 4GB of ram and it does not support memory remapping (that's why there is no such option in the bios).

And because of this when you install 4GB of ram you will still see less, therefore what you have right now is a chipset limitation issue and it does not matter whether your using a 32bit or 64bit operating system.

There is no fix for the problem your having and the only way to do it is to change your board with a chipset that can support more than 4GB of ram which is the next one up the Intel G35.

Oh well
Fuck it im fine with 3.3 xP

_________________
Ego vos irrumabo et confutuabo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vmanisme
Master Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 05 Sep 2007
Posts: 458
Location: Google!

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 5:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

haha return ur vista x64 before its not to late get some money back
_________________
HackPacks and More!
www.hackpacks.net
OWNER

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Nick :3
I posted too much crap
Reputation: 5

Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 2224

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 5:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

vmanisme wrote:
haha return ur vista x64 before its not to late get some money back

Pirated Wink

_________________
Ego vos irrumabo et confutuabo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Karakawe
I post too much
Reputation: 3

Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 3899

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 5:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

vmanisme wrote:
haha return ur vista x64 before its not to late get some money back

Being able to utilize more than ~3.3GB of memory isn't the only reason to use a 64-bit operating system..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Imitazion
Grandmaster Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 19 Oct 2006
Posts: 558

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 1:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vmanisme wrote:
haha return ur vista x64 before its not to late get some money back

Who the fuck in here buys OS's?

My teacher told me that 64bit OS's can handle up to billions of billions GB RAM, it's just a question if the mobo has enough slots.
I believe it is true. Can you find a motherboard which has slots for more than 128GB?

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nick :3
I posted too much crap
Reputation: 5

Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 2224

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 1:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Imitazion wrote:
vmanisme wrote:
haha return ur vista x64 before its not to late get some money back

Who the fuck in here buys OS's?

My teacher told me that 64bit OS's can handle up to billions of billions GB RAM, it's just a question if the mobo has enough slots.
I believe it is true. Can you find a motherboard which has slots for more than 128GB?

A better question would be
Can you find RAM sticks of more then 8 gigs

_________________
Ego vos irrumabo et confutuabo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Karakawe
I post too much
Reputation: 3

Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 3899

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 1:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

UltimateDestiny wrote:
Imitazion wrote:
vmanisme wrote:
haha return ur vista x64 before its not to late get some money back

Who the fuck in here buys OS's?

My teacher told me that 64bit OS's can handle up to billions of billions GB RAM, it's just a question if the mobo has enough slots.
I believe it is true. Can you find a motherboard which has slots for more than 128GB?

A better question would be
Can you find RAM sticks of more then 8 gigs

They've got them, but what might somebody do on a desktop with 128GB of memory?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nick :3
I posted too much crap
Reputation: 5

Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 2224

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 1:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Karakawe wrote:
UltimateDestiny wrote:
Imitazion wrote:
vmanisme wrote:
haha return ur vista x64 before its not to late get some money back

Who the fuck in here buys OS's?

My teacher told me that 64bit OS's can handle up to billions of billions GB RAM, it's just a question if the mobo has enough slots.
I believe it is true. Can you find a motherboard which has slots for more than 128GB?

A better question would be
Can you find RAM sticks of more then 8 gigs

They've got them, but what might somebody do on a desktop with 128GB of memory?

Do one heck of a lot of stuff at the same time Smile

_________________
Ego vos irrumabo et confutuabo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Imitazion
Grandmaster Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 19 Oct 2006
Posts: 558

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 2:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Karakawe wrote:
UltimateDestiny wrote:
Imitazion wrote:
vmanisme wrote:
haha return ur vista x64 before its not to late get some money back

Who the fuck in here buys OS's?

My teacher told me that 64bit OS's can handle up to billions of billions GB RAM, it's just a question if the mobo has enough slots.
I believe it is true. Can you find a motherboard which has slots for more than 128GB?

A better question would be
Can you find RAM sticks of more then 8 gigs

They've got them, but what might somebody do on a desktop with 128GB of memory?

I once saw a prototype of a 16GB RAM stick, it costed 102.000DKK though.
But I'm quite sure that you all say that the max it can handle is 128GB, because there ain't larger mobo's with enough RAM slots to put in over 128GB.

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Karakawe
I post too much
Reputation: 3

Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 3899

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 2:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Imitazion wrote:
Karakawe wrote:
UltimateDestiny wrote:
Imitazion wrote:
vmanisme wrote:
haha return ur vista x64 before its not to late get some money back

Who the fuck in here buys OS's?

My teacher told me that 64bit OS's can handle up to billions of billions GB RAM, it's just a question if the mobo has enough slots.
I believe it is true. Can you find a motherboard which has slots for more than 128GB?

A better question would be
Can you find RAM sticks of more then 8 gigs

They've got them, but what might somebody do on a desktop with 128GB of memory?

I once saw a prototype of a 16GB RAM stick, it costed 102.000DKK though.
But I'm quite sure that you all say that the max it can handle is 128GB, because there ain't larger mobo's with enough RAM slots to put in over 128GB.

Find one that can, buy all that memory, and get back to us. Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Imitazion
Grandmaster Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 19 Oct 2006
Posts: 558

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 3:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lol, we could just find a motherboard with the highest amount of RAM slots possible, and then calculate. Even though it would be cool to have all those amount of RAM.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
da dog
Master Cheater
Reputation: 0

Joined: 19 Jan 2008
Posts: 279
Location: check your pants

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 3:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thats on hell of a way to get bragging rights... but would it do you any good?
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kls85
I post too much
Reputation: 22

Joined: 18 Jul 2008
Posts: 2757
Location: Under ur bed

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 7:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Desktop rams is only good up to a certain amount, anything after that and it can cause stability issues.

Servers and workstation which uses beyond the amount of ram we use on our desktops has "error correction" built right onto the ram itself to reduce downtime or prevent a system from crashing due to some memory error.

For 8GB, desktop ram is fine.
Beyond 8GB, better of using ECC or for other boards
FB-DIMMs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cheat Engine Forum Index -> Computer Talk All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

CE Wiki   IRC (#CEF)   Twitter
Third party websites